Press Release

CMA announces new board members and presents six awards at annual meeting

Columbia, SC – On Thursday, May 16, 2013, the Columbia Museum of Art held its 62nd meeting and the 97th Annual Membership Meeting. Board president Luther J. Battiste, III officiated the meeting, which included the announcement of the board officers for 2013-2014.

Luther J. Battiste, III serves as president with R. Scott McClelland, vice president; Dr. Suzanne R. Thorpe, secretary; Joel A. Smith, III, treasurer, and Karen Brosius as executive director.

At the meeting, the following trustees were elected to serve for the Class of 2016: Tod Augsburger, Julie C. Brenan, Dr. Allen J. Coles, Theodore B. Dubose, Karen Dukes, F. Earl Ellis, Jr., Rachel Hodges, Jodie W. McLean and Virginia E. “Ginny” Newell.

The President's Award was presented to Dr. Suzanne R. Thorpe for her leadership, energy and commitment to the Museum as a Board of Trustees member and volunteer. She has been instrumental in helping organize and implement the Museum’s successful Speaker’s Bureau and serves on the board of the museum membership affiliate group, Friends of African American Art and Culture.

The Director's Award for employee of the year was presented to Leslie Pierce, Associate Director of Public Programs and Community Relations, for her loyalty and dedication to the CMA for her work in developing and engaging adult audiences in new and creative ways.

The Chairman's Award, presented by CMA Commissioner Katherine Davis, was presented to SCE&G for their contributions to the CMA through their commitment to supporting the Museum’s family-friendly initiatives as well as inviting employee volunteerism, which have helped advance the arts in the Midlands.

The Vendor Service Award was given to PrintSouth Printing, Inc. for their dedication in providing quality print products and outstanding customer service to the CMA for over 20 years. PrintSouth provides the CMA with resources to save on printing costs and the expertise to navigate postal regulations for quicker and cheaper delivery.

The Volunteer Educator of the Year Award was given to JoAnn Lockwood for her dedication and service to the Museum since 2008. She successfully organizes Mentoring Mondays, a program which provides continuing education for the CMA docents. This award is voted on by the Docent Corps.

Mac Arthur Goodwin, a former CMA board member, art educator and consultant for the SC Department of Education, presented his namesake award for excellence in education in the arts to Steve Bailey.
Bailey has been an art educator in South Carolina since 1982. He dedicated the last five years to the promotion of aesthetic growth and quality performance in art education through South Carolina Arts Education Association (SCAEA). Through his leadership, the CMA has developed new connections with the SCAEA.

# # #

Newsroom Log In

Not a registered user? Sign up here